Posted by: Government & Heritage Library | February 17, 2010

Upcoming Genealogy Event!

Scottish Heritage Weekend takes place Friday 19 March – Sunday 21 March 2010 at the Scottish Heritage Center, St. Andrew’s Presbyterian College, 1700 Dogwood Mile, Laurinburg, NC 28352-5598 (map). Featured speaker Dr. David Dobson of Dundee Scotland, author of numerous genealogical works on Scottish emigration to the United States, will present “Emigration from the Western Highlands to the Americas before 1800” and “Scottish Trade with the Colonial Carolinas.”

For more information on this event contact the St. Andrews Scottish Heritage Center at http://www.sapc.edu/shc/index.php

Responses

  1. I am looking for my ancestors whom lived in Hendersonville North Carolina for many many many years. My fathers name was James henry Waldrop and his mother Elsie (Surname?) Waldrop was Cherokee and her grandfather was full cherokee chief of the tribe back in the late 1800 or early 1900’s.. I am looking for a way to find my native american heritage and enrollment. My grandmother elsie had a sister mae and a brother Fred but I do not know her maiden name. My grandma was married twice but Joseph waldrop was my grandfather and my father’s father. My father james Henry waldrop died about 1 and 1/2 years ago and had his ashes spread throughout (jackson County) and Hendersonville mountains where he was born in 1941.


Leave a Reply

Categories

